“Seek First To …

“Seek First To Understand; Then To Be Understood” Steven Covey’s – 5th Habit of Highly Effective People

As I reflect on the first year of my principalship, the words from Steven Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People run through my mind. When I entered the field of education in 1995, my mom recommended that I read Covey’s book.  During the early years in my career, I read and listened to his book several times.  Since that time I have relied on these habits to help me to be a better person and educator.

Habit 1: Be proactive

Habit 2: Begin with the end in mind

Habit 3: Put first things first

Habit 4: Think win-win

Habit 5: Seek first to understand, and then to be understood

Habit 6: Synergize

Habit 7: Sharpen the saw

Although all of these habits were important during this school year, I believe #5 was the foundation for my leadership. I realized early on that it was essential to, first, be a listener and, second, share my thoughts and ideas. Authentic understanding, listening, and  communication were critical to developing and maintaining meaningful relationships and a healthy school culture.  I am grateful for my mom’s recommendation and for a great school year!

 *To prepare for the next school  year, I just downloaded the audible book so I can listen to it again (along with the #8: Habit From effectiveness to greatness), the book on tape won’t play in my car. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

